Centre for Environment's most recent graduate alumni (November, 2008)

Friday, December 5, 2008 9:30:00 AM

Students News

The Centre for Environment congratulates the following alumni who have convocated in November 2008, after completing a graduate program offered by the Centre. Titles of the graduands' research papers or theses are included.  For previous graduate alumni, please visit: http://www.environment.utoronto.ca/Research/GraduateResearch.aspx.

For information on collaborative programs: http://www.environment.utoronto.ca/Graduate/Programs.aspx

For information on M.Env.Sc. program, please visit: http://www.utsc.utoronto.ca/~envsci/menvsci/

Joshua Cornfield, M.A. November 2008, Political Science/CFE ES. Supervisor: David Pond, Political Science, U of T Mississauga. Performance Measurement for Provincial Planning Policies.

José Etcheverry, Ph.D. November 2008, Geography/CFE ES; supervisor: Danny Harvey, Geography. Challenges and Opportunities for Implementing Sustainable Energy Strategies in Coastal Communities of Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Andrew McKinley, M.A. November 2008, Geography U of T Mississauga/CFE ES; supervisor: Pierre Desrochers, Geography U of T Mississauga.  The Drivers and Performance of Corporate Environmental and Social Responsibility in the Canadian Mining Industry.

Renata Ramasra, M.A. November 2008, Geography/CFE ES; supervisor: André Sorensen, Social Sciences, U of T Scarborough. Carbon Commodification: Assessing Social and Environmental Implications of Assigning Property Rights to Carbon.

Maxime Roy, M.A. November 2008, Economics/CFE ES; supervisor: Diego Restuccia, Economics. Economics of Climate Change: The DICE Model, Numerically Solving it in Matlab and Results.

Rachel Stack, M.A. November 2008, Political Science/CFE ES; supervisor: David Pond Political Science, U of T Mississauga. The Relationship Between Political and Partisan Interests and Environmental Issue Consideration in Public Policy.

Xianming Zhang, M.Sc. November 2008, Geography/CFE ES; supervisor: Miriam Diamond, Geography. Measurement and Modeling of Polybrominated Biphenyl Ethers (PBDEs) and Polychlorinated Bipheyls (PCBs) in the Indoor Environment.

Benita Tam
, M.Sc. November 2008, Geography/CFE EH; supervisor: William Gough, Physical and Environmental Sciences, U of T Scarborough. A Climate Change Impact Assessment on the Spread of Furunculosis in the Ouje-Bougoumou Region.

(Centre for Environment program at the Dept. of Physical and Environmental Sciences, U of T at Scarborough.) 

Research Option:
Vincent Cheng, M.Env.Sc. November 2008; supervisor: George Arhonditsis. A Revisit of Lake Phosphorus Loading Models Using a Bayesian Hierarchical Framework.

Anne Griffith, M.Env.Sc. November 2008; supervisor: Ken Howard. Hydrogeological Modeling for Sustainable Water Management Practices on the Absheron Peninsula, Azerbaijan.

Tony Law, M.Env.Sc. November 2008; supervisor: George Arhonditsis. Structural Changes in Lake Functioning Induced from Nutrient Loading and Climate Variability.

Nicole Ricker, M.Env.Sc. November 2008; supervisor: Roberta Fulthorpe. Characterization of the tfd Gene Cluster in Burkholderia Isolates from Uncontaminated Soil Environments.

Internship Option:
The following alumni completed internships in 2008 at: Aqua Terre Solutions Inc., Toronto; Bermuda Institute of Ocean Sciences, Bermuda; City of Toronto Environment Office; DBA Engineering Ltd., Markham; Environment Canada (Canadian Wildlife Service, Toronto; National Office, Gatineau, Québec; Adaptation and Impacts Research Division, Centre for Environment, U of T; National Water Research Institute, Burlington; Science and Technology Branch, Toronto); Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa; Geep Inc., Barrie; Green Students Fundraising Ltd., Toronto; Health Canada, Ottawa; Intrinsik Environmental Science Inc., Mississauga; Jacques Whitford (Burlington, Ontario and Fredericton, New Brunswick); Komex Worley Parsons, Mississauga; O'Connor Associates Environmental Inc, Oakville; Operation Wallacea, Whitby; Town of Richmond Hill Engineering and Public Works Department; or Vale Inco, Copper Cliff.

Sara Adamkowski, Shabnam Bagher, Amanda Baltimore, Steven Beecraft, Jennifer Bennett, Erin Caplan, Giselle Davidian, Heena Dhawan, Eric El Masri, Adam Griffiths, Kristina Hausmanis, Lilian Hoang, Chi-Wai Andy Lai, Melanie Langille, Mathieu Morin, Na Qu, Jessica Rando, Shaun Sharma, Serguei Stremilov, Pearl Vas, Michael Wallace, Xiaohui Wang, Kirk Wong, Wing-Shun Wu, and Xing Wu.