Honours for engineers Ursula Franklin, Eric Miller, Ted Sargent and David Zingg

Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:42:00 AM


Ursula Franklin(Photo: http://www.mse.utoronto.ca)

Ursula Franklin inducted into Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame
University Professor Emerita Ursula Franklin, a world-renowned materials scientist, peace advocate and humanitarian, was inducted into the Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame in November 2012 in Ottawa. Professor Franklin joined U of T Engineering in 1967 as the first female professor of metallurgy and materials science (now known as materials science and engineering). In 1984, she became the first woman to receive the title "University Professor," the highest academic rank at U of T. She is known for her investigation into the presence of strontium-90 in children's teeth, which ultimately led to the ban of atmospheric nuclear weapons testing in the 1960s. She is a Companion of the Order of Canada and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. 


Eric Miller(Photo: www.engineering.utoronto.ca)

Eric Miller receives University of British Columbia Margolese National Design for Living Prize
Civil Engineering Professor Eric Miller received the inaugural UBC Margolese National Design for Living Prize which recognizes a Canadian who has made outstanding contributions to the development and improvement of living environments for Canadians of all economic classes. Dr. Miller researches interactions between humans, urban land use, transportation and the environment.  His work in the modelling of vehicle emissions, pollutant dispersion and their exposure to human populations has helped to develop a more comprehensive understanding of fundamental urban planning issues.  From 2008 to 2012, Professor Miller served as the Director of the Cities Centre at U of T which focusses on urban living environmental issues.

Visit Eric Miller's home page for more his research.


Ted Sargent(Photo: www.engineering.utoronto.ca)

Ted Sargent wins Steacie Prize for Outstanding Young Canadian Researcher
Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Edward (Ted) Sargent is the winner of the 2012 Steacie Prize awarded to a scientist or engineer 40 years of age or younger who has made notable contributions to research in Canada.  Professor Sargent, who is also the Vice-Dean of Research in the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering, is widely known as the inventor of full-spectrum solution-processed solar cells, a new class of solar energy harvesting devices based on colloidal quantum dots (CQD).  He also holds the world record for the highest-performing solar cell in this promising new class of materials. Professor Sargent has also made fundamental contributions to understanding how electronic transport proceeds in CQD solids and to advancing the materials chemistry of novel nanomaterials.

Recent article on Dr. Sargent`s research featured in E-Environews September 2012.

Visit Ted Sargent's group research page for more on his research.


David Zingg(Photo: www.engineering.utoronto.ca)

David Zingg receives Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute McCurdy Award
Professor David Zingg (Director, U of T Institute for Aerospace Studies, UTIAS) has been named the 2012 recipient of the Canadian Aeronautics and Space Institute McCurdy Award which recognizes outstanding achievement in the science and creative aspects of engineering relating to aeronautics and space research. Dr. Zingg holds the Canada Research Chair in Computational Aerodynamics and Environmentally Friendly Aircraft Design.  He was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship to pursue his current area of research, the aerodynamic design of novel aircraft configurations with reduced greenhouse emissions. He has championed the need to reduce the impact of aviation on climate change and has built a team at UTIAS to address this urgent priority.

Visit David Zingg's homepage for more on his research.