School of the Environment administrative member David Powell receives a U of T 2015 Green Ribbon Award

Monday, April 20, 2015 11:12:06 AM

Award recipients
Left to right: Academic Director of the U of T Sustainability Office Professor Bryan Karney (centre) presents 2015 Green Ribbon Award recipients left to right David Powell, School of the Environment; Professor Hilary Inwood, OISE; Paul Leitch, Director, Sustainability Office; and student Helen Willoughby, Trinity College Environmental Society. (Photo from


Congratulations to David Powell, the School of the Environment’s Undergraduate Student Advisor and Placement Coordinator.  On March 19, 2015, he was presented with a 2015 Green Ribbon Award (administrative staff category) at the second annual University of Toronto Green Gala, primarily for his support of students and their initiatives related to sustainability. The Green Ribbon Awards celebrate the outstanding sustainability efforts and leadership of people at the St. George campus. Students, staff, faculty and external groups are each recognized in their own category. People and groups are nominated by their peers at St. George campus and the winners are selected by a panel of environmental community members.  Other winners included Helen Willoughby (School of the Environment Bachelor’s student majoring in Environmental Studies), Trinity College Environmental Society (student category); Hilary Inwood, OISE (faculty); and Waste Reduction Group Inc. (external partner).

In celebration of the Sustainability Office’s 10th year, a fifth award was added, The Beth Savan Honourary Green Ribbon Award.  Beth Savan, Senior Lecturer Emeritus at the School of the Environment, has been an integral part, not only of the formation of the Sustainability Office, but of general sustainability on campus.  This was awarded to Tyler Hunt, formerly of the Sustainability Office.

The event also featured a “year in review” video of environmental initiatives on campus as well as celebrations of the ten year anniversary of both the Sustainability Office and Bikechain, a non-profit cycling organization based out of U of T.



This is edited version of articles found at